Let’s get busy!

Good morning everyone!

I have news today and I’m hoping you will find it as exciting as I do.

I have been looking at ways to organize myself better this year; that includes calendar keeping, meal planning, getting my home in order, etc.  So I’ve been looking around online for various ways to do that and I have found two sites I now get daily or weekly emails from.  One is FlyLady and the other is Home Storage Solutions.

FlyLady has her website, a Facebook page for support and commraderie, a blogradio station and lots of awesome products for sale (I am waiting to buy myself a FlyLady mug once I’ve proven I can stick with the program).  Saturday is designated by FlyLady as family fun day, unfortunately my kids are with their father every weekend so I’m making Saturday …. Pamper Me Day!  I’m going to do some yoga (if I can get the tv from Big Daddy) then a lovely soak in the tub with special bath salts.  I think I deserve that!

In the FlyLady program you make what is called a Control Journal.  This binder contains all your lists, routines, menus, etc.  i was going to make one but decided that since I spend a generous amount of time here in front of my computer, I would do it on here.  My calendar is Cozi and I’ve been using the free version for a long time on my computer, Blackberry and my Samsung Tablet, it’s been great at keeping track of our busy lives.  The free version can even be shared between members of your family if they get the app for it on their mobile.  If Big Daddy enters something onto the calendar while he’s out and busy, I can see it at home and know what’s going on.

Yesterday, I decided it was time to upgrade to Cozi Gold and I love it!  You get a birthday tracker and a contacts book with the Gold version on top of the calendar, to do lists and menu planner/recipe box.  I highly recommend Cozi for your busy family!

Home Storage Solutions has a calendar with a small chore for each day of the week.  There is even a PDF version of this calendar that you can print off.  If you’re like me, you wont have to do every single one of them (I don’t own table clothes, place mats or cloth napkins, so no need to organize them).  Actually, in the blitz I did in my kitchen yesterday, I took care of a few of the chores on the list right through next week, LOL.

So go ahead and check out those links if you are interested in getting a great start of organizing your life this year!

Last nights dinner was awesome and I even helped to make it!  Go me!  Big Daddy made a Picnic Potato Salad and I made Pineapple Cranberry Chicken, with that was a side of beans and carrots.

Picnic Potato Salad Recipe

Picnic Potato Salad

This is one of our favorite potato salads, a simple recipe made with potatoes, eggs, mayonnaise and mustard. Make this delicious potato salad for your next cookout or potluck!
Ingredients
3 pounds potatoes, cooked until just tender, cubed, cooled
5 or 6 hard cooked eggs, cooled, coarsely chopped
1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped red onion
1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped celery, optional
thinly sliced tomatoes and cucumber, for garnish, optional
.
Dressing:
3/4 cup mayonnaise (a little more or less, as desired)
1 to 2 tablespoons prepared mustard
salt and pepper to taste
Add ingredients to Cozi shopping list
Preparation
Combine potatoes, egg, onions, and celery. Stir in mayonnaise, mustard, and salt and pepper to taste. (Stir the mayonnaise and mustard in a little at a time, until you have the flavor and consistency you like.)
Top with thinly sliced tomatoes and cucumber, if desired.
Serves 6 to 8.
Pineapple Cranberry Chicken
Pineapple Cranberry Chicken
Chicken breasts baked with cranberry sauce, pineapple and cinnamon.
Ingredients
4 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1 (16 ounce) can whole cranberry sauce
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple, drained
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Add ingredients to Cozi shopping list
Preparation

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
Place chicken in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish and pierce with a fork. Layer cranberry sauce and pineapple over chicken and sprinkle with cinnamon.
Cover dish and bake in the preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove cover and bake for another 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through (juices run clear).

(When I did the chicken, I didn’t have crushed pineapple only chunks and it worked out just fine.  I also didn’t have 4 pounds of chicken, I had 3 chicken breasts so I did those in an 8×8 pan instead of a big 9×13 and it worked out great!)

After dinner we went for a wander up to Walmart and treated ourselves.  I got a new cookbook, The Looneyspoons Collection Looneyspoons to go along with the copy of Crazy Plates Crazy Plates I have by the same authors, Janet and Greta Podleski.  We got a couple of movies, The Croods for me and Skyfall for Big Daddy and a game for the XBox 360 for both of us, Diablo.  Also some new K-Cups for the Keurig, I got a caramel flavoured coffee that I really wasn’t too impressed with.  I prefer the mocha swirl Big Daddy bought for me.  He stuck with his Black Silk from Folgers because he couldn’t find anything he wanted to try.

The Croods

The Croods

This is a really cute movie with very recognizable voice actors, I recognized 3 of them right off the bat.  Eep – Emma Stone, Grugg – Nicholas Cage and Guy – Ryan Reynolds.

I have to admit, I wondered why they made cave people seem so agile?!  I mean Eep can do things even the most athletic of modern humans probably could never do … but then again, this is a cartoon.  That aside, I can’t wait to sit and watch this with my kids.  I’m sure they’ll get a kick out of Belt, I know I did!\

The imagination that went into the creatures in this movie is awesome.  You know they never existed but if they had, that would have been a beautiful time to live in …. well, aside from not being the top of the food chain of course.

I give this movie 4.5 out of 5 stars for sure, if you get a chance to see it … go for it!

Ok, I am now off to pamper myself today.  I hope you all enjoy your Saturday!

Leave a Reply

