Colder than “______________”

Good morning all!

I don’t know where you all hail from but here in Southern Ontario it is COLD!!  Yesterday was a snow day after we got dumped on Sunday night and today it feels like -40 out there!!  To be honest, even if the school had been open, there is no way I was walking my daughter to school.  It’s just not safe to be out in this temperature.  It was so cold last night, the walls of our house were cracking and popping!  It sounded like the building was being pelted with ice balls!

Even though I’m feeling rough this morning (a big thank you to my daughter, lol) I figured I’d give this blogging thing a real go and introduce myself and my family!

I am a full time mother of 3, there is my daughter Lullie Pie who is 6 and half way through grade 1.  She’s very upset about these snow days because she was really looking forward starting back to school after the holiday break.  Next we have Doodle Bug my son and he’s 3.  He is very much looking forward to starting Junior Kindergarten this September.  He usually gets upset when we have to drop Lullie Pie off at school and then come home, poor kid.

525883_10150942834681731_1485470162_n

(This is an older picture but they haven’t changed all that much in the last year or so except Devon has short hair now)

Last, but most definitely NOT least there is Bug, she is the 9 year old daughter of my boyfriend (heretofore known as Big Daddy).  She’s a great kid and we don’t see enough of her because she lives with her mother a few hours away.

Brooke newest

Big Daddy is my boyfriend (yes, I’m separated from my kids dad) and he’s a great guy!  He supports me in everything I want to do and has helped me see that I’m a wonderful person in my own right!  I hope I get to keep him for a long while, LOL.

Big Daddy is an Addictions Counselor and a university student ……. all while he works part time with hoarders.

IMG-20130715-00001

(Not the best picture of him and I’m sure he’ll give me that “look” but I don’t care, LOL)

I guess I should tell you a bit more about myself.  Like I said, I’m a full time mother, part time student and small business owner.  I’ve been working for quite a while now on a Childbirth Educators certificate from Childbirth International.  I also provide a placenta encapsulation service to families in my city, I have a whole blog and website for Generations – Birth and Family Services .  It’s small now and I don’t have many clients at all but I’m working on it.

I also have started selling Avon, that’s really slow as well.  The only orders I have so far are from Big Daddy and myself but at least it’s a start.  One of Big Daddy’s friends is going to be ordering from the next campaign and I’m hoping it will continue from there, I really want to help support my family.  I’m hoping to be able to do some reviews of the Avon products I purchase for myself.

I love to crochet, although I haven’t picked up the afghan I’m working on in a long while …. maybe I should do that at some point today.  It’s being made for a friend that has bought one from me before.  If you look back through this blog, you’ll see that it used to be a crochet blog exclusively …. well, now it’s more.  I’ll keep sharing crochet patterns and maybe even some knitting ones because one of my New Years Resolutions is to learn to knit.

I also LOVE canning!  Big Daddy actually bought me a 22qt pressure canner!  I will be doing a canning post/canner review later.

I guess that’s all for now, I’ll go on the hunt for a recipe to share with you all on this chilly day.

Crock Pot Ham and Potato Soup

Crock pot ham and potato soup

Big Daddy has made this soup twice, both times the kids actually ate it and they aren’t big soup eaters!  It was really good although the second time he made it, he cut the amount of pepper and we didn’t have any celery, it didn’t have that nice bite to it that time.

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 8 hours

Total time: 8 hours 5 minutes

Serves: 6 – 8

Ingredients:

3 1/2 Cups peeled, diced potatoes

1/3 Cup chopped celery

1/3 Cup finely chopped onion

1 Cup diced ham

3 1/4 Cups water

6 chicken bullion cubes

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

5 Tablespoons flour

5 Tablespoons butter

2 Cups milk

Directions:

1. Stir all but milk, flour and butter into crock pot.  Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours, check tenderness of potatoes.

2. Minutes before serving, melt butter in a saucepan, add flour and gradually add milk, stirring constantly over medium heat until thick.

3. Stir mixture into crockpot

4. Let cook 15 – 20 minutes more

One thought on “Colder than “______________”

Leave a Reply

